January 25, 2011

  • In Search of Exotic Flora and Fauna

    It has been a treat with lots of different taste and smell and sight experiences ... sensory delight. Nevertheless, grief wells up like a flood at times. I find it difficult to enjoy anything. I really have to work at it and that can be exhausting. Even if one travels to paradise the pain goes along for the ride.

    Yesterday we went to Sanibel island and walked in the wildlife reserve. It was peaceful. Here are some moments I captured. 

    gull feeding

    DSC_0186

    DSC_0227

    DSC_0215

    DSC_0214

    DSC_0244

    DSC_0207

    DSC_0187  

    falcon

    DSC_0240

    spoonbill in flight

    DSC_0245

    mangrove

    DSC_0247

Comments (10)

  • Gulls, heron, hawks, storks ??? I wish I knew my birds better. Beautiful plants and birds! Two of the best things about life!
    HUGS!

  • Beautiful photos, Ana -- I've never been to Sanibel Island, but have heard that it's a magnificent place!  One of my mother's hospice nurses told me a quote she'd heard on the radio -- it helped me a lot: "Memories cradle our grief and preserve our joy."  I hope your trip is helping you to relax and refocus.

  • There's little I enjoy more than going through wildlife reserves ~ especially along the shore ~ sigh ~

  • May the Lord bless you Ana and bless your time there. 
    Thanks for sharing the beauty.

  • Beautiful.  We went to Sanibel Island once..........49 years ago.

  • @adamswomanlost - in order..gulls, a great blue heron, an egret, pelican, anhinga, stork, a hawk...possibly a falcon, a green heron(that guy has cool yellow legs), the falcon again, the falcon had captured a snake, a roseate spoonbill (they are really bright pink but it is not apparent at this distance.....

  • @kafekotka - Yay, you knew them all! You taught me two I did not recognize....the spoonbill and the anhinga! Thank you!

  • I'm sorry for your pain.  I remember trips like that, in the middle of beauty but inwardly struggling.  Enjoy it and may God bring you peace!!  "He leads me besides still waters; he restores my soul."

  • Prayers lifted for your sorrow...life can be so hard.

    I love Sanibel Island-we used to go there when the kids were really little and I'd like to go back again. Is that Ding Darling park that you went to? I was always intrigued with the anhingas and how they apread their wings to dry. It was funny to see a tree full of them with their wings spread out-almost reminded me of a clothes line with lots of black clothes on it.Praying that the ocean and shore and God's wonderful creatures are giving you some solace.

  • @BluebirdChris - thanks, Chris ... feeling better today @cz_scrap - God is so evident in the midst of pain... I am thankful for that ... yes! That is Ding Darling.. and I am so glad we went ... it was a good day

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment