March 6, 2011

  • MY GRANDMA

    grandparents and Thomas kids I have been thinking about my grandmom lately. She was born in 1904 and died in 1997 before her 93rd birthday. I was her first grandchild and I heard the story of her delight in my birth many times. There are many things I could tell you about her but I will limit to a few. She was overweight most of her life and except for special occasions, she was always dressed in a cotton housedress with an apron. She loved gardening and was a member of the horticultural society. She was a good cook. Some of my favorite things she made were: from scratch spagetti and meatballs, beef stew with homemade dumplings, fried chicken, coleslaw, home baked rolls. She loved to bake and her scratch cakes, pies, apple dumplings, egg custard and snow pudding were wonderful. At christmas she made thousands of cookies of all sorts. She was "house proud" and loved things clean and organized but always welcomed people to her home. She enjoyed knitting and crochet and made things for all her grandchildren and her nephews children and grandchildren. She was loving and generous. This photo is from about 1960. I am the oldest child in the photo and those are my grandparents. My grandmom is younger there than I am now. Things sure have changed!

     

Comments (9)

  • I can see the love and joy in that picture!

  • Such wonderful memories!!

  • I love old pictures.  restores memories

  • Sometimes I feel like those kind of grannys are like a lost generation. The grandmothers of today are not to apt to bake, knit and do all those special things. What a blessing to have her love and care while growing up!

  • Thanks for sharing...my mom's mom didn't do much in the way of crafts or baking, but she sure loved her girls and their kids! Her sister, who never married, was the one who made beautiful dresses for us and baked everything. There have been many times I wish Auntie was still around to help me out of a sewing or baking jam(my mom took after her mom, I think I got Auntie's genes ).

  • my mother (not grandmother) also died in 1997...she was born in 1900 (she was 41 when I was born). We were in Moldova and I had a wild trip to California for her funeral. She was a great cook and a genius at making something from whatever was available, both clothes and food.

  • Such great memories.  I have wonderful memories from my grandparents too.

  • What wonderful memories you have of your grandma! I definitely could have picked you out in the photo . . . looks like you do still!

  • @moldovagary - awwww your mom sounds great.... I am sure you miss her...my mom is still around and she is 80

    @JusticeMom - thanks, Carolyn!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment