January 13, 2011

  • PLAYING CATCH UP

    I realized yesterday that is has been two weeks since I have posted anything on here so I spent time visiting your sites and now it is time to communicate!

    2010 was not a very good year for us and we were not sorry to see it go

     

    2011 floated in quietly … we left a party early and came home to watch a movie in our pajamas

     

    We began the New Year as we intend to go on …with a walk in the park (see photos below)

     

    My brother who lives in Tennessee surprised us with a visit last week. He sent me a text at 6:15 in the AM to tell me he was at the Starbucks near us. He just got engaged to his high school sweetheart and he brought her to meet us. Reunited after 30 years. Love her.

     

    After four months, we finally had a visit with our son, Brian. Many tears were shed on both sides. It was great to talk face to face but he is still not coming home.

     

    Made a trip into Philly to have dinner with my sweet daughter and son in law and to see their Christmas decorations … love them.

     

    Treated ourselves to a movie date… saw The King’s Speech … excellent!

     

    We have had loads of snow lately.  I have had a bad cold and not been able to get out all week but I have enjoyed sitting in the family room looking out the window at the deer and the birds. They are both so entertaining.

     

    It was a grey day but there were hoards of people in the park. There might have been an organized 5K run or something.

    DSC_0064

    Like us, many people were walking their dogs.

    DSC_0065

    Some people were venturiing out onto the ice... not a good idea since it is flowing water and not frozen solid.

    DSC_0066

    The wet ground was a little cold for Bindi

    DSC_0068

     

    Frozen creek

    DSC_0069

    Met these guys along the way

    DSC_0071  

    The sun was trying to break through the clouds

    DSC_0072

     

    I like how these leaves looked apricot as they clung to the branches

    DSC_0079

    This is an old mill alongside the park that is now a playhouse

    DSC_0073

    It was a mild day with no wind

    DSC_0076

     

    Bindi got her elf shirt all muddy

    DSC_0077

    A bit cold to linger on a bench beside the water

    DSC_0080

    There were interesting patterns in the ice

    DSC_0081

    Tomorrow I will post some recent visitors to my back yard.

Comments (10)

  • Yes, the past 3 weeks have been busy for me, too. Two of them I was Xanga AWOL, but have now gotten back to posting a bit this week.

    I'm SO glad you got to spend time with your son! I still pray for him.

    Glad you had some happy times with family! I love the story about your brother and his fiance!

    I love seeing your dogs! And I'll have to check into that movie you mentioned.

    It might have been a grey day, but those photos bring warmth and smiles!
    HUGS!

  • Interestingly...we have birds hanging around our yards...and a few squirrels. I look forward to your pics of your visitors!

  • Hi Ana  ~ I had to Google your movie and book that you recommended above; the movie is one that I do believe Mike and I would enjoy experiencing together. I was curious about the book; one time a number of years ago, I was in a George MacDonald mood and read several of his books (but not that one). I love the pictures of your walk! Seeing Bindi next to each of  you really shows how itty bitty she is!  The fact that Brian did a face-to-face with you would seem to be at least a step in the right direction; I'll keep praying for a full return for him. Love you! Carolyn (Oh, & what you said about my folks; you and Greg have given your children a real heritage as well. Someday (if not already) they will all 3 realize it.

  • That's great that you're reconnecting with Brian -- slowly and gently he'll gradually come to appreciate you (and family) more.  I love the snow pics!

  • @slmret - I hope you are right, Janet!

  • Bindi is so tiny.  The picture of the people on that ice looks downright dangerous!

  • I don't know the story of your son and his family but it was a year ago in August that I last spoke (instant message) with my son.  I was going to just let him come to me etc. but finally the other day I couldn't stand it anymore ( spent most of the afternoon crying and missing him so much. so I messaged him.  He responded with a thanks Mom and that meant so much to me (his even acknowledging that I am his mother.)  I don't think we will ever be really close again but like I said he did acknowledge me.  My heart goes out to you. I bet Bindi was glad to get back inside the house.

  • Hope you are all better.  This Christmas cold seems to hang on a long time. 
    So glad you saw Brian.  I hope the visit opened up communication between you all, and you will get to see him more.
    Nice to see the snow, though I would carry Bindi too, looks too cold for the tiny thing.

  • My heart lept when I read that you met with your son...baby steps is what it takes sometimes. Will continue to pray for all of you. Loved seeing your photos....poor Bindi and the cold feet. My seem to not understand at all all the clothes I have to put on to take them outside...they are all "hurry up mom,now"!!!!

  • Bindi is so cute in that photo- she does look chilly.  I wasn't sorry to see 2010 go either- not a great a year for us as well.  

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment